There is a limited amount of time to contest your suspended license and address the charges resulting from a DUI in Georgia. As soon as you are released from jail, you should contact an attorney to protect your license. If you refused a chemical test, are under 21 years of age, a second DUI in five years then If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI, contact The Shelley Law Firm today to begin your defense.
It is important to remember that a DUI arrest in Georgia comes with a 30-day time frame from the date of arrest to submit a hearing request to the Department of Driver Services OR apply for a ignition interlock device.
This is due to the Implied Consent Statute*. Civil or administrative procedures refer to motions involving your license to drive and have NOTHING to do with the criminal penalties that result from a DUI charge in criminal court.
We strongly suggest that you refuse. After all, a sample provides evidence to support the arresting officer’s suggestion that you have committed a crime. As a result, your refusal will trigger the 30-day window in which to contact the Department of Driver Services to save your license.
Back at the scene, when you refused, the officer will have typically taken your license and issued you a Form 1205, which is a temporary permit for your driving privileges.
This is when you MUST take action and contact the Department of Driver Services to save your actual license to drive. The best way to get this process started is to contact an experienced DUI attorney immediately and allow them to handle this complex process while you breathe a sigh of relief.
Sometimes it’s hard to remember whether you refused at the scene or not. The officer’s patrol car, the headlights, the flashlights, the sirens & the humiliation can all lead to confusion and uncertainty as to what actually happened during your arrest.
Therefore, we strongly suggest that you contact an experienced DUI attorney you can turn to for help in saving your license immediately after the process begins. It goes step by step and we will be with you every bit of the way.
Simply because you are a licensed driver, you must consent to a sample of your blood breath or urine & if you refuse to provide this sample, your license to drive can be suspended up to one year.
The criminal court is where a Judge will determine if you are guilty of DUI, either by a plea of guilty, a jury trial, or a dismissal from the State’s attorneys. Because a DUI conviction in Georgia could result in losing your license, additional jail time, and hefty fines, it’s important to contact an experienced DUI attorney who can help you as quickly as possible.
A DUI conviction stays with you forever. It cannot be expunged or cleared from your record, unlike other misdemeanors. There is no “first offender” for DUI. This is because car insurance companies need to know who to insure and who not to insure. A DUI will affect how much you pay for car insurance and will limit your ability to obtain a Commercial Driver’s License.
At The Shelley Law Firm, an experienced Georgia DUI lawyer will review the evidence against you and use experience and specialized DUI training and expertise to:
A DUI conviction in Georgia cannot be removed or expunged from your record. It stays with you for life. If you have more than one DUI on your record, the penalties become more severe – especially if you are within a five or ten-year time frame.
When the government calculates the timeframes from one DUI to the next, the law is based on the date of arrest, not the date of conviction.
Text 470-231-8855 and we will make ourselves available for a FaceTime or Zoom call IMMEDIATELY.